Home / Process


for Public Elementary and Middle Schools

The accreditation process is a supportive partnership between member institutions and the CPS Commission as they work together throughout an ongoing 10-year cycle. The process engages schools in comprehensive analysis, self-reflection, and planning in response to the Standards of Accreditation. 

Elementary and middle schools are now using the revised accreditation process — A Vision for Learning — which was launched by CPS in the fall of 2017. The process is multi-dimensional and continuous. The main phases of the cycle are:

  • Self-Reflection
  • Collaborative Conference
  • School Growth Plan Development and Implementation
  • Decennial Accreditation Visit
  • Growth Plan revisions and progress reports

The process of reflection, planning, and implementation is cyclical and does not end with the Decennial Accreditation Visit. Schools should be actively monitoring evidence, assessing progress, identifying changing priorities or school needs, and adjusting their school plans as necessary for continuous growth and improvement. Schools will report updates about implementation of and progress on the revised School Growth Plan three years and five years after the Decennial Visit. More information about the follow-up process and NEASC events and resources will be provided to the school following the Decennial Visit.